Board of Directors

Tony Kiernan

Tony Kiernan AM, Non-Executive Chair


Mr Kiernan is a former solicitor with extensive experience gained over 35 years' in the management and operation of listed public companies. As both a lawyer and general consultant, he has practiced and advised extensively in the fields of resources and business generally. He is the Non-Executive Chair of Redbank Copper Ltd and a former Non-Executive Chair of Saracen Mineral Holdings Ltd and Non-Executive Director or Northern Star Resources Ltd.  

Mr Kiernan is Chair of the Fiona Wood Foundation which focuses on research into burns injuries and a member of the Order of Australia.

Ken Brinsden, Managing Director & CEO

B. Eng (Mining)
Mr Brinsden is a mining engineer with over 25 years' experience in surface and underground mining operations, including roles in mine management, production, and brown-fields and green-fields development roles across a range of commodities. Mr Brinsden joined Pilbara Minerals as Chief Executive Officer in January 2016, and was appointed Managing Director and CEO in May 2016.

Mr Brinsden has led the development of the Pilgangoora Lithium-Tantalum project, which has progressed from first drill hole to concentrate exports in under four years. This exponential growth has resulted in Pilbara Minerals now being one of the world’s leading lithium raw materials suppliers with a portfolio of growth options to execute, as the demand for battery raw materials increases.

Sally-Ann Layman

Sally-Anne Layman, Non-Executive Director

B Eng (Mining) Hon, B Com, CPA, MAICD

Ms Layman is a mining professional, corporate financier and advisor with 27 years' of international and cross-commodity experience across six continents and more than 20 countries. Previously, Ms Layman held a range of senior positions with Macquarie Group Limited, including as Division Director and Joint Head of the Perth office of the Metals, Mining & Agriculture Division.

More recently, she has worked as a consultant providing financial consulting services to miners and explorers, including strategy and business development.

Ms Layman is a Non-Executive Director of IMDEX Ltd, Beach Energy Ltd and Newcrest Mining Limited.

Nick Cernotta

Nick Cernotta, Non-Executive Director

B. Eng (Mining)

Mr Cernotta has more than 30 years' experience in the mining industry, spanning various commodities and operations in Australia, Africa, South East and Central Asia, Saudi Arabia and Papua New Guinea.

He holds a Bachelor of Mining Engineering and has held senior executive roles with extensive operational experience in both the public and private sectors of the mineral resources industry.

Previous roles Mr Cernotta has held include Director of Operations at Fortescue Metals Group, Chief Operating Officer at MacMahon Contracting and Director of Operations at Barrick Gold.

Mr Cernotta is the Non-Executive Chair of Panoramic Resources Limited and a Non-Executive Director of Northern Star Resources Limited and New Century Resources Limited. He was also a Non-Executive Chair of ServTech Global from October 2016 to December 2017.

Steve Scudamore

Steve Scudamore, Non-Executive Director

FCA BA (Hons), MA (Oxon), FAICD, SF Fin, HonDUniv (Curtin)

Mr Scudamore is an experienced Australian company director. His distinguished career includes more than three decades with KPMG, including senior roles in Australia, London and PNG including Chairman of Partners WA, Head of Corporate Finance in WA and National Head of Valuations, KPMG Australia.

Since 2012, he has been a Non-Executive Director and Chair of MDA National Insurance Pty Ltd, the insurance arm of a mutual medical defence organisation founded in Perth in 1925. Mr Scudamore is a Non-Executive Director of Australis Oil & Gas and Regis Resources Ltd.

His ongoing involvement in community organisations includes his role as Trustee and Vice Chair of the Western Australian Museum and WA Committee Chair of the Australian British Chamber of Commerce and member of the National Board.

Miriam Stanborough, Non-Executive Director

BA (Hons), BE (Chem) (Hons), MSc (Mineral Economics), MAusIMM, GAICD

Ms Stanborough is a chemical engineer with more than 20 years’ experience in the mineral processing industry across various commodities including copper, uranium, gold, silver, alumina and mineral sands. She has previously held a number of senior roles at Monadelphous, Iluka Resources, Alcoa of Australia and WMC Resources in innovation & technology, technical development, production management, project management, business improvement, HR & diversity strategy, and sales & marketing.

Ms Stanborough is the Chair of the Minerals Research Institute of Western Australia (MRIWA), Deputy Chair of the Northern Agricultural Catchments Council (NACC), and Deputy Chair of Scouts WA.

  Subscribe to Email Alerts


HQ: Level 2, 88 Colin Street, West Perth WA 6005
Postal Address: P.O. Box 884, West Perth WA 6872
Phone: +61 8 6266 6266 | Fax: +61 8 6266 6288


Email Alerts